Aktuelle News & Schlagzeilen

Music Moves Europe Awards 2023 at ESNS in Groningen

Music Moves Europe Awards 2023 at ESNS in Groningen

Schmyt (Germany), July Jones (Slovenia), Oska (Austria), Kids Return (France), and Queralt Lahoz (Spain) are the winners of the Music Moves Europe (MME) Awards 2023. The Grand Jury Prize was awarded to Sans Soucis (Italy) and the Public Choice award was won by Jerry Heil (Ukraine).


The annual EU prize for popular and contemporary music (co-funded by the Creative Europe programme) celebrates emerging artists who represent the European sound of today and tomorrow. The MME Awards ceremony was organised on 19 January in Groningen (NL) at the ESNS showcase festival and conference. Previous winners of the awards include Rosalía, Dua Lipa, Stromae, Hozier, Meskerem Mees, Blanks, Pale Waves, and Christine and the Queens.


The MME Awards are organised by ESNS and Reeperbahn Festival, supported by Liveurope, Yourope, Live DMA, Impala, Digital Music Europe, ICMP-CIEM, International Music Managers Forum (IMMF) and European Music Exporters Exchange (EMEE).


Out of fifteen nominees, five MME Award winners received €10,000 each. The winner of the Grand Jury Award received €10,000 and a green touring voucher worth €5,000. The winner of the Public Choice Award received €5,000, and a Deezer session. All fifteen nominees were invited for the education programme, with best practices in the music industry to strengthen their knowledge for their careers.


After the awards ceremony, all fifteen nominees performed in front of music professionals and enthusiasts at ESNS, the world’s largest showcase event for European music. Alongside the 2023 nominees, ESNS featured performances by 2022 winners Blanks (NL), Francis of Delirium (LU) and Alina Pash (UA). Furthermore, an education and professionalisation event was organised for the 2022 and 2023 MME Awards nominees and their representatives. In this programme the attendees receive training to improve their daily business. The topics include sustainability (how to organise a CO2 friendly show or tour).


The jury of the 2023 MME Awards consisted of five people that earned their stripes in the music industry. Each year the Public Choice winner of the previous year joins the MME Awards jury. This year this seat was taken by Jacqueline Baghdasaryan, the singer of Armenian artist Ladaniva who won the MME Public Choice Award last year. The other jury members were: Cindy Castillo (MadCool festival), Gemma Bradley (BBC radio), Bryan Johnson (Spotify) and Kevin Cole (KEXP).


(Photo: Ben Houdijk)





© 1999 - 2023 Entertainment Technology Press Limited News Stories